Along with the Netherlands, Curaçao and Saint Martin, the Caribbean island of Aruba is one of the four countries that make up the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Consequently, Dutch is also an official language on the island, although most of the population speaks Papiamento. Within the scope of a cooperation agreement, the Dutch Language Union also plays an active role, especially in the sphere of education.